

## Email to Mohawk Trail and Hawlemont Communities Regarding Formation of the 2D8T Steering Committee (sent Jan. 25, 2024)

The Steering Committee for the Mohawk Trail/Hawlemont Sustainability Project (the 2D8T Committee) has been formed and is ready to get started! The goal was for the Committee to represent every town in the districts while also including representatives of key constituencies (e.g., parents, teachers and town officials), and community members whose experience and perspectives will benefit the Committee's overall work. Those agreeing to serve are:

Open seat, Ashfield
Paula Consolo, Buckland, Finance Committee
Jenny Van Wyk, Colrain, Parent and Educator
Julie Talbot, Charlemont, Parent and Educator
Ellen Purinton, Hawley, Community Member
Elizabeth Finn, Heath, Parent
Judy Coles, Plainfield, Select Board
Paul Hollings, Shelburne, Community Member
Robin Pease, Mohawk Trail/Hawlemont Director of Facilities and Transportation
Kristen Tilona-Baker, Executive Director, Mary Lyon Foundation
Sheryl Stanton, Mohawk Trail/Hawlemont Superintendent of Schools
Martha Thurber, Chair, Mohawk Trail School Committee
Elizabeth Van Iderstine, Chair, Hawlemont School Committee

As the sustainability work gets underway, there will be multiple opportunities for everyone in our communities to participate – in subcommittees, focus groups, community forums and other events – and we encourage everyone to get involved! All of these opportunities, as well as all work products of the consultant (BERK12) and the 2D8T Committee will be posted on 2 districts 8towns.org, the website created for this project. Please check frequently for information and project updates!

## **Project RFP Committee/Interim Steering Committee**

Will Cosby, Chair, Hawley Select Board
Hayley Gilmore, Principal, Buckland-Shelburne Elementary School
Larry Langford, Chair, Buckland Finance Committee
Sheryl Stanton, Superintendent, Mohawk Trail and Hawlemont Regional School Districts
Martha Thurber, Chair, Mohawk Trail School Committee
Amber Tulloch, Principal, Hawlemont Elementary School
Elizabeth Van Iderstine, Chair, Hawlemont School Committee
Cheryl Handsaker, Member, Hawlemont School Committee